Off Centre

By RachelCarter

And here we have... erm...

Here is your guided tour:

To your right is the sea

To your left are the sand dunes

Ahead of you is the very expensive Vention House and a man walking out of the mist

A man walking out of the mist?! Wah - I didn't see him!

Instead of saying, 'Hello,' he simply raised one hand in silent salute as he came close and passed by. I think it's a secret mist-walkers signal. It means, 'We are the disappearing and reappearing ones. We have infinite wisdom and a special in-mist understanding.'

Yes, that'll be it.

Not many people go to the beach when it's misty. They don't know what they're missing!
(They don't know what they 'mist'? )

There was one car in the car park when we arrived. I think... I only saw one anyway...

Actually, I suppose there could have been more!

It was fun though. I could still smell, hear, taste and feel the sea but I couldn't see it. The dog played with other appearing-out-of-nowhere dogs with their ghostly owners and then we drifted away from each other, no one once mentioning the mist.

I wanted to keep saying to everyone, 'Oooh - isn't it so weird and exciting how you appeared from nowhere?' But maybe to them it would have been like saying, 'Oooh - I see you have a dog.' A bit obvious, really...

Five things for my 5 good things for today:

1. Mist!
2. Taking photographs in the mist (can I have that one?)
3. Finding out I haven't messed up something that I didn't want to mess up and I've been worried about for about 6 weeks.
4. Realising I don't have a tummy-bug - it was just a reaction to the awful Cup-A-Soup I had earlier
5. Being one of those people who doesn't hate Mondays. Mondays are often a getting back into my stride day for me. You hate me now, right?

Backs off into the mist doing the special hand gesture for disappearing mist people
(don't worry, it's not rude)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.