Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Love is in the air...

My day started not so well - with a trip to the dentist after spending all weekend with a bitch of a toothache (sorry, but that is the best way to describe it!) On antibiotics now for a week. Fun.

Once the trauma of the dentist was behind me, I decided it would be best to take a nice walk along one of my favorite trails. The temps were in the 60's and I have to keep reminding myself that it isn't truly spring yet. That said, it was definitely spring along the trail! I came across a whole log of painted turtles (Chrysemys picta) sunning themselves. They hibernate during the winter and I don't think I've ever seen them out so early. There were six when I first spotted them, but by the time I got Big Daddy hoisted into position, only these three remained. It is breeding season for the turtles, by the way. Just sayin'...

While I was snapping shots of the turtles, I could hear a great deal of splashing so I turned to investigate. There were three mallards in the distant reeds, two males and a female. Apparently, both males were courting the female, who was being coy. Finally, tired of waiting, the first male pounced! Which totally provoked the second male, who proceeded to throw a fit! Once things calmed down, the happy couple retreated for some mutual grooming and preening.

So, a good day even after a rocky start. Happy Monday, folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.