Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Shell Game

Rainy, rainy day, feeling uninspired and disappointed in my photos today. So much to learn with the macro lens.

This is some sort of shell that someone gave me a long time ago. It sits on a windowsill with some of my favorite stones. I don't know where it came from - it's known as a top shell because of the shape, but I know nothing about the creature that once lived inside of it.

Like most children of a certain age, I loved to collect shells on our many visits to the beach. But my oldest sister Jackie was the master shell collector - she and her friend Paula would spend hours at the tideline sifting through sand for the tiniest shells - tiny meaning almost microscopic, or so it seemed. At the end of our vacations, she'd have jars and jars of tiny mollusk shells. I don't know whatever happened to them - I suppose they went the way of my old Beatles albums when Mom and Dad downsized years ago.

I'd like to research this little treasure but it's late and I want to post my blip and get on to other things. Perhaps I'll get a second wind later and amend my post.

Meantime, here's Marcel the Shell with Shoes On to entertain you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.