Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Drop Shot

A couple of phenomena here: the return of the chives and snow in mid-March. And by "snow" I mean some white stuff fell out of the sky at 2 am and was pretty much gone by 8. But left behind some lovely drops on the surprising chives in the window box.

I doubt I will ever tire of taking photos of drips and drops, even though my viewers may tire of looking at them. They're so magical to me, with tiny worlds encapsulated and reflected in them. I'll never forget my astonishment at seeing the first macro I took of a droplet. It was pee-your-pants excitement! (Sorry, TMI?) I had no idea what I'd done until I saw it on the computer screen. And there's this one, ice just at the melting point. I love that it requires a level of attention to weather and light conditions, noticing just the right moment to attempt the capture without bumping the drop off the twig or stalk. Perhaps this is how a hunter feels: There's the thrill of the hunt, the timing, the stalking and *click* the shot! Fortunately, I don't have to kill my subject, but rather preserve it for others to enjoy.

Today's drops were shot with the new point/shoot on macro setting. Enjoy it LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.