Voyage of a Beagle & Lab

By Inez

I take it all back ...

After yesterday, when I felt that Coco completed my life, had taught me patience and basically not to sweat the small stuff, tonight I write this with a large glass of red wine in my hand! This morning she stole Hector, the boxer's, ball and ran away with it. She is getting a bit of a name in the park for this and I think she does it in the hope that Hector will run after her, which he does. So Coco had her prize and wouldn't come back, Hector wanted his ball back and wouldn't come back, Coco seems to be able to lead him astray - I tried squeaking the tennis ball I have for such occasions and Max, a very old boxer who really shouldn't exert himself wanted the tennis ball and jumped up on me almost knocking me over. Max was joined by Hector, both wanting the squeaky tennis ball and Coco had disappeared into the undergrowth - the two boxers were making so much noise I couldn't hear Coco moving about and was sure I had lost her until she came padding out without a care in the world! It's just as well the other dog owners have a sense of humour and just stand back, laughing at me trying to control my dog! Back home she's destroyed a place mat and the cover of the Next Directory. Spring has sprung and Joshie and his friends were playing in the back garden so she wanted out to play with the football, boys not so sure so small beagle scratching at the door to get out. Let her out after dinner, just as it was getting dark and she found a discarded toy so I was back to trying to get Coco to give up something she wants to hold onto. I'd forgotten all her little hiding places under bushes and how frustrated I get running back and forward trying to get her to drop something! The poor plastic turtle that lived in the sand pit has now lost his head and a couple of flippers and has gone to a better place! Anyone feel up to training a stubborn beagle?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.