Northern Exposure

By Northern

Is it....?

Apologies for another bumblebee blip but this one could actually be quite exciting.

Well, if you're interested in bumblebees it will be.

I've been trying to get a definite ID on this bee for the past month or so. I say this one, but I am assuming there is more than one but then again I have only seen one at a time so maybe I have spent an awful lot of time following this poor bee around the garden.

The reason for all the interest?

I think it may be a Great Yellow Bumblebee. I'm not a hundred percent sure, but they do exist here so I'm not completely mad in thinking it might be. I've sent the pic off to a friend who knows about such things for confirmation.

Apparently the dead give away that it is a GYB is the broad black band between the wings. But I don't want to get too carried away just yet in case it's not the rare beastie.

I shall let you know when you can sign up for safari holidays to see this rare species around my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.