Cairn on Hurst Hill

Hurst Hill is an insignificant outlyer of an outlyer on Winter Hill and it has this outrageous (for such an insignificant summit) twin cairn.

I have always run round Hurst Hill although the ground is rough and difficult so this morning, on a 19 mile recce of the dozen summits around Winter Hill, I tried crossing it - the cairn encouraged me to believe there might be a path, however faint, but there isn't.

Winter Hill itself can be seen in the distance - the summit and its masts on the left and Rivington Pike on the right between the cairns.

Larger

I was really torn for today's photo - I am pleased with this cairn, the background and the dramatic sky but about 20 minutes later I spotted a weasel standing watching me and you can see it here.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.