100 Things you can do with a plastic box

I have finished my paper!!!! Wooohooooo! I still have to read it carefully and polish it, but that is a job for tomorrow.

The weather has been beautiful today, so I took the boys out for a training session in the afternoon.

One thing is to teach the dogs' their routines, but they also need to practice their ability to communicate with humans and be creative, so now and again we do an exercise that we call '100 things you can do with....'. Today it was 100 things you can do with a plastic box.

I took a clicker, a bag full of sausage and a plastic box. Then I let Hero come up with as many things as he could using the plastic box. He sat on it, circled it both ways, stood on it, put his head into it, put his front paws on it and circled it on the hindlegs, jumped it and many other things.

Every time he came up with a new idea, I clicked and rewarded him.

If he came up with something I thought we could build on, I shaped the behavior by rewarding every little tiny step towards the behavior that I wanted.

We had a great time, Hero had lots of sausage and he is really tired now as he has had to think a lot.

Happy Saturday Blippers
Emmy & the Hazyland boys

PS. Thanks for putting Doggie and Helle in the spotlight yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.