Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Oh, so Wicked!

Laurie and I have waited for years to see Wicked - we missed it the first time it came to Portland. But this time we planned and plotted months in advance, picked a date and bought tickets last fall. We saw it today, and it was worth the wait!

I don't have much to compare it to, since my experience with stage productions is pretty limited. But this was absolutely stunning. The music, the costumes and sets, the performers - all of it was so amazing. Glinda and Elphaba just blew me away with their voices, their acting and their comedic timing. There was so much humor in this, I was surprised by that. I'd read the book, Wicked, on which this is based, but the writers took liberties with the storyline and the characters and, in my opinion, improved it greatly.

I was hoping for a more exciting photo and tried to sneak a couple inside the auditorium, but was quickly reprimanded by an usher who took her job very seriously. There were opportunities after the show to photograph some of the players in the lobby, as they were collecting donations for AIDS organizations, but large crowds are difficult for me in general, and especially with the walker, so we didn't hang around. I had to settle for the banner outside the venue.

Do see this production if you have the opportunity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.