The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Some Mothers Do 'Ave Them

And my mum had them all today!

Se had her birthday, mothers day and Christmas all rolled into one!

We asked her to come for dinner last week, but couldn't decide on what to cook her for a change. I didn't want to do just a plain old Sunday lunch, as it was too much of a cause for celebration. As always, the best ideas hit you as your drifting off to sleep, and I decided to do a full Christmas dinner with all the trimmings, my mums favourite meal of the year!

For the record, we had turkey, which I stuffed with two oranges, roast potatoes, roast parsnips, Brussels sprouts (an essential Christmas vegetable), carrots, cauliflower cheese, pigs in blankets and orange and cranberry stuffing balls!It was great fun to cook, and I must admit, roast dinners are one of my specialities. By the time my mum had received her Mothers Day chocolates and flowers, and we bought her sparkly earrings and necklace for her birthday she realised she was being spoilt rotten for the day! And why not eh? It's not ever day you get to give everything back for all that they have given you for bringing you up tidy like!

It's been a fabulous weekend, following on from an excellent week, probably the best I have had since being made redundant.

Oh ... and did I mention ... we won a Grand Slam yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.