The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

International Velvet

I've had to take a time out before I typed this ... as WelshSi said on twitter, I had to wait until my eyes stopped sweating.

You can use the words, tremendous, legends, heroes, whatever you want too often these days, but three Grand Slams in seven years, they deserve what ever mantle you want to give them.

I think it was Neil Jenkins said in his autobiography that the milestones of the '70's became the millstones around the necks of the '80's players. Those millstones are now a thing of the past, and the current breed of Welsh player is making its own history now.

The most impressive thing about this campaign, they have had to win in different ways each time. Against Ireland and England, they had to come out to win in the second half. Against Italy and France today, they had to grind things out, and win against a determined and gritty opposition. They also followed their World Cup performances up with an impressive Championship title. Normally, Wales would have fallen away in the following months.

Who would have thought, that way back when, when we sat in the bar at Holland House Hotel watching the Irish match, we would be celebrating a Grand Slam.

Deffrwch Cymru cysglyd gwlad y gan,
Dwfn yw'r gwendid bychan yw y fflam
creulon yw'r cynhaeaf, ond per yw'r don
daw alaw'r alarch unig yn fy mron

Every day when I wake up I thank the lord I'm Welsh
Every day when I wake up I thank the lord I'm Welsh

Gwledd o fedd gynhyrfodd Cymraes swil
Pan darganfyddais gwir paradwys Rhyl

Every day when I wake up I thank the lord I'm Welsh
Every day when I wake up I thank the lord I'm
thank the lord I'm Welsh

Deffrwch Cymru cysglyd gwlad y gan,
Dwfn yw'r gwendid bychan yw y fflam

Every day when I wake up I thank the lord I'm Welsh
Every day when I wake up I thank the lord I'm Welsh
Every day when I wake up I thank the lord I'm Welsh
Every day when I wake up I thank the lord I'm
thank the lord I'm
thank the lord I'm Welsh


Catatonia - International Velvet 1998

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.