The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

The Millennium Stadium

This was taken about twenty four hours before kick off for the Grand Slam tomorrow against France.

It is almost impossible to think that there will be nearly a quarter of a million people in Cardiff tomorrow just for the game. There are already quite a few beret clad people walking around today.

Sport can be cruel sometimes, and I just hope that the rugby gods smile kindly on us, and we earn our third Grand Slam in seven seasons. The French will undoubtedly live up to their stereotype and be unpredictable as ever, but I think Wales have enough fire power to overcome them. The Championship is virtually guaranteed, with a forty four points difference to be overhauled by England, and they are playing Ireland, so I can't see that happening. The trouble is, when you are on for a Grand Slam, Championships can seem anti-climatic. I hope not, as this team has a chance to make legends of themselves. I wish them all the luck in the world.

About this time tomorrow, we will know if the stadium is full of Grand Slam cheering fans, or will they be walking the boulevard of broken dreams alongside the River Taff?

My latest RSPB Blog is up .. and it my Grand Slam Birding XV - What birds would make your team?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.