Cosmosellie

By cosmosellie

Stained glass fanlight above my door.

I am very interested in glass and have done quite a few courses. I made this panel to go above my front door a while ago. The design was inspired by a Charles Rennie Mackintosh brooch my friend has. The panel measures about 3 and a half feet by 18 inches. When I first made it I wanted to admire it so I taped it to the window in the living room. When I got up the next day it had fallen off and cracked right across the middle. There is a natural weakness there anyway because of the design. The glass teacher said just live with the crack but I couldn't so I laboriously took it apart and replaced the broken section.

The very small squares (the streaky ones) are Hartley Wood glass. They were a famous Wearside glass maker but have now closed.
It is not easy to photograph and this photo does not do it justice really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.