Punk Rock Zoologist

By CaptVickHartnel

Common Brown Butterfly (Heteronympha merope)

I've been trying to photograph one of these for days now. They've suddenly appeared all through the park next door, but they're usually too quick to get a good shot, and when they're not in flight they normally keep their wings up, hiding the brightly coloured dorsal surface, with only the dull, brown underside showing. For some reason this one was just sitting on a drainpipe on our house, with it's wings spread out like this. I started taking photos from a good 5m away, slowly moving closer and constantly taking shots until I got close enough for this one before it flew away.
It's great to see so many butterflies out at the moment. I really feel like I'm seeing more wildlife in this area now than I have in previous years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.