The Memory Keeper

By athousandwords

Leaving gift

~backblip~

Last day of placement today! Naturally lots of stuff went wrong, beginning with my failure to assist a new amputee with a pivot transfer, which prompted much head-shaking and heavy sighing from my supervisor. Cue a massive case of beetroot-face on my part. Felt slightly better once, after practically shoving me out of the way, my normally highly efficient and capable supervisor too failed to get the patient into the wheelchair I had brought with us.

I'll skip over the other stuff - it was all pretty minor. At 12.30pm, half an hour before my placement was due to end, we were running horribly late. The same patient from earlier had been hoisted into her chair in order to come down to the gym. With the assistance of three (though I just held the drip bags), we managed to transfer the patient onto a plinth. Which was where I noticed my shoes rapidly begin to turn from white to red. To cut a long story short the patient's wound had burst, I spent 30 mins deep-cleaning the floor/ plinth/ myself, and eventually managed to leave at around 2pm.

Before I left I was taken aside by my supervisor, who presented me with this bracelet. I was so touched, as my last placement practically booted me out of the door on my last day! Really wish I didn't have to leave, who needs to do four years of uni anyway?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.