Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Bee Happy

I love that song by Bobby McFerrin "Don't Worry, Be Happy" and I have been humming it for the last hour. If all goes according to plan, you'll be humming it too. If you don't remember the words, you can follow along HERE.

I had a host of cooperative birds on the cherry trees this morning, but it suddenly occurred to me that once the blooms are gone, all those big, fat, adorable bumblebees would also be gone until something else blooms. So, it seemed a good day to brush up my rather rusty "bug technique." Oh, who am I kidding, I have no bug technique. I am envious of those of you who post those amazing bug shots with the perfect detail of each hairy little part.

As for me and my so-called "technique"... well, it involved running around the trees (over and over and over again) trying to get one of the bees to sit still long enough to focus. I soon gave up the close up filter because it just wasn't happening for me. So, I cranked the shutter as fast as I could on my Nikkor 18-200 and continued to circle, dodge and weave. I can only imagine what anyone who saw me would think. I tam sure the neighbors have probably forbid their children from approaching me too closely in the future. Even the birds were daunted by my behavior. And, after about 200 shots, I didn't have much that didn't go straight to the bin. But I like this one because you can see the pollen on the bee's nose. Wait, do bees even have noses? Well, maybe its the mouth. Whatever.

She'd probably be best viewed LARGE

So, hope you enjoy my bee and that you "Be Happy!" One more day until the weekend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.