Laboratory Cherry

The cherry is in full bloom, and looks glorious!

I have waited for this tree and its companions to blossom each year for, I think, the last 46 years' It stands in front of the laboratory where I work(ed)., and I first saw the white flowers in 1966. Phew! What a long time ago!

There used to be a full line of mature trees on either side of the main entrance. This cherry, the first to the left of the entrance, is now one of the few of the old trees remaining. I think that they must have been planted very soon after the laboratory was built: it was opened in 1941. Here you may see a little of the history of this place and of the people who have worked here (including, if you know where to look, your present correspondent).

Some of the trees must have got too old to survive, and have been removed fairly recently. You can see a young replacement on the extreme left of the photograph. There's another hole a similar distance further on that hasn't even got ts new tree in yet.

As a matter of fact, I was very much afraid last year that I had seen the spring "cherry show" for the last time, because plans were well advanced for this building to be demolished to make place for a replacement laboratory. But something went awry with the financial plans, and the expected funds did not materialise. At least from the point of view of the trees, I was happy about the reprieve. (So far as the building is concerned, my views are ambiguous. The old building is solid and functional: it's probably better built than what would go in its place. But it's undoubtedly old-fashioned, and we are very pushed for space: the new would have had more floors and more floor area, and would have been purpose-built to suit current needs.) I hope to continue to enjoy this display each year for as long as I am here and the trees have not been ripped up in the "interests" of modernisation.

I am very happy to see that some research workers are using the shade of the tree while they doubtless have an esoteric and intellectual discussion of the work they are doing. When they saw me about to take photographs, they asked if I wanted them to move, but I insisted they stay, because they added a nice human touch to the picture.

Ombra Mai Fu, indeed (although, to be honest, that was a plane tree.)

Tender and beautiful fronds
of my beloved plane tree,
let Fate smile upon you.
May thunder, lightning, and storms
never bother your dear peace,
nor may you by blowing winds be profaned.

A shade there never was,
of any plant,
dearer and more lovely,
or more sweet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.