Elizabeth Bay House

What a lovely day. Perfect Sydney weather.

I am officially old, as adjudged by the fact that I take great delight in spending two hours with other old people sauntering around historic houses such as the magnificent Elizabeth Bay House. Not everybody was old. I had a son with me, whose attendance skewed the average age.

It was built between 1835 and 1839, and was then known as 'the finest house in the colony'. Elizabeth Bay House is a home in the Regency style, originally surrounded by a 54-acre garden, but now wedged between dozens of apartment blocks in Elizabeth Bay, all vying for the sparkling view down the harbour.
It is a superb example of Australian colonial architecture, best known for its central elliptical saloon with domed lantern and geometric staircase. I have to admit to feeling quite ill on the staircase, which is cantilevered. I nearly posted a photo of that, as it is very elegant and incredibly beautiful, but my lens was not up to the task.

I would have liked them to remove the chandelier, so that when I lay on the ground I could have had an unimpeded view of the dome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.