Old Faithful 3

I had no plans for viewing tonight, as the sky has been covered in a thick bank of grey cloud all day.

However, it quickly cleared this evening so I got set up and fired a few shots of my favourite thing.

It looks good big but after all this time I still haven't figured out how to link to big!

In this shot you can see:
Mare Imbrium (The Sea of Showers) - on the transition line from dark to light - large sea towards the top. On the lower right edge you can sea the mountain range "Montes Apenninus". The crater at the top of the sea of showers is Crater Plato, 101km across. The biggest of the craters visible inside the sea, to the left of the mountains is Crater Archimedes (83 km across) and towards the bottom just outside of the mountains is Crater Eratosthenes (58km across).

Just below this sea, cut in half by the transition to darkness is Mare Insularum (Sea of Islands) in which Crater Copernicus (93km) can be found - this is just chopped off by the transition line.

The three seas that can be seen on the fully visible half of the moon are
Mare Serenitatis ( Sea of Serenity)
Mare Tranquilitatis (Sea of Tranquility)
Mare Fecunditatis (Sea of Fecundity)
Mare Crisium (Sea of Crises)

If you want to find out more you can take a look at the interactive moon atlas ...sections C4,5,6, D5,6, E6

Yes, I know I am turning into a boring old moon geek, but I love finding this stuff out and I figured you should all suffer some of my boring facts!

James is poorly - has been asleep half of the day and re-retired to bed at 8.30 this evening, after I set up the spare bedroom for him. This is so he can sleep on the floor (effectively - it's on the fold out sofa bed) because he doesn't like sleeping high up in his cabin bed when he is poorly. He is desperate to be better for tomorrow as he wants to go and see Grandad Bonkers, who we haven't seen since Christmas.

Fingers crossed it's a 24 hour thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.