Cosmosellie

By cosmosellie

Social class in tulips - I look down on him

Three Men (tulips) on Class

I cut loads of tulips from the allotment yesterday. Some are very small and others are tall. The tall ones think they are a cut above the rest.


The Frost report ( a UK satirical TV programme) did an iconic sketch on English social class. My image represents social class- upper class- white tulip (John Cleese), middle class- pink tulip (Ronnie Barker) and working class- orange tulip (Ronnie Corbett). The essence of it is that each class looks up to, or down on the others.

The sketch

Cleese: The white tulip
(In bowler hat, black jacket and pinstriped trousers) I look down on him (Indicates Barker) because I am upper-class.
Barker: The pink tulip
(Pork-pie hat and raincoat) I look up to him (Cleese) because he is upper-class; but I look down on him (Corbett) because he is lower-class. I am middle-class
Corbett: The orange tulip
(Cloth cap and muffler) I know my place. I look up to them both. But I don't look up to him (Barker) as much as I look up to him (Cleese), because he has got innate breeding.
Cleese:
I have got innate breeding, but I have not got any money. So sometimes I look up (bends knees, does so) to him (Barker).
Barker:
I still look up to him (Cleese) because although I have money, I am vulgar. But I am not as vulgar as him (Corbett) so I still look down on him (Corbett).
Corbett:
I know my place. I look up to them both; but while I am poor, I am honest, industrious and trustworthy. Had I the inclination, I could look down on them. But I don't.
Barker:
We all know our place, but what do we get out of it?
Cleese:
I get a feeling of superiority over them.
Barker:
I get a feeling of inferiority from him, (Cleese), but a feeling of superiority over him (Corbett).
Corbett:
I get a pain in the back of my neck.

It was written by Marty Feldman and John Law, and features John Cleese, Ronnie Barker and Ronnie Corbett.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.