lightscape*

By tolu

My grandad died yesterday. He was 89 years old and although it is a sad day for me, his last days were filled with suffering and I am glad he is at rest now.

My nanny, his wife of 70 years, is also 89 and watching her care for him these past few years has been both heartbreaking and heartwarming.

They had the kind of selfless devoted love that is rare and inspirational. Sticking together through thick and thin (and they saw much of both) they loved openly and kindly, and always honored and respected each other. They laughed together often and have full-to-bursting photo albums, a house like a treasure trove and many many memories. He called her 'my love' and she called him 'my John' to his last day.

Today's picture is of a photo of them taken 20 years ago. It sits on my nanny's piano and she smiles at it when she plays.

He lived a full and rich life and I will remember him always with love and admiration.

His memory makes me smile.


Thank you to those who left comments the first time I uplloaded. I had to reload the photo and lost them but I did read them and am touched.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.