lightscape*

By tolu

Here is Kai with his Uncle Nate! They have a special bond and I love to watch them together.

Two of Kai's contributions to this week have kept my heart smiling.

The last time we went to the hospital to see my grandad, I took Kai. He was full of questions about his great Grandad and all the equipment and I explained that he wasn't very well.
Although my grandad couldn't speak, his eyes followed Kai's little voice as he stood next to my nanny at the bedside and he smiled what by that point had become a rare smile. As we were leaving, my grandad was asleep so we tried to sneak out without disturbing him. At the door however, Kai turned around and called back loudly,

'Bye bye grandad. I love you grandad!'.

We all smiled. And I knew at that moment I wouldn't see him again.

Two days later when I received the news that he had passed away, I sat for a while as Kai was playing on the floor at my feet. I didn't say anything to Kai, but he suddenly turned to look at me and said (out of the blue),

'Grandad all better now?'

It brought tears to my eyes and a smile to my heart!

Yes Kai, Grandad is all better now!


thank you for all your thoughts and comments dear blip family


.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.