Ave Maria

1. I leave work at lunctime for a half day holiday. It starts with a sprint across town to meet the man measuring my floors. I'm only a few minutes late.

2. With the afternoon ahead I buy a picnic and some tools. As I eat, sat on the big pile of velvet curtains that I use for a chair, I start to get a bit chilly. There's nothing for it but to improvise some slippers.

3. I demolish the kitchen. Well, get the high cupboards off and make a start on the tiles. I get a lot done by six, when I tidy up for the evening.

4. Back on the curtains, having a rest, I start to hear church bells. They play Ave Maria. It's rather nice to sit in the stillness, those bells the only sound.

5. Clockwork. Pizza. BBC4 documentary about Queen. Champion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.