The way I see it.

By christinePears

Barrier Down

This wee red barrier is not much to prevent a nasty accident! I cross this level crossing every day and I always slow down and look both ways - but you cant see far because of the hedges. Then I wonder if I would be better just speeding across if there is no warning sounds, light and barrier. The biggest fright I got was when I had just crossed and the lights started flashing!!! It's really better not to think about it too much!

The village that I lived in when I stayed in Caithness was Halkirk and 2 of the three roads coming into the village had a level crossings. They had no barriers or warning sounds and only flashing red lights. There was a tragedy while I was there when 3 people died in the one accident. I am glad there is a barrier plus sounds on the one I now cross daily.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.