Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Comet & Meteor

Backblipped on 9th April 2012

Today I went to meet 2 delightful and charming little men! Having washed and changed my clothes to avoid any possibility of mite transfer, I set off to Basingstoke to meet these two little fellows, who were just 3 weeks old! I'd seen Comet (the champagne hooded) on a facebook page and fallen for him, and I went to meet his family and choose him a little friend (one of his brothers) to move in with him. Meteor has the most delightful white pattern on his little brown tummy - I must try to get a photo of it sometime!

After I got home (still in the Fiat monster, as I was calling the giant courtesy car by that stage), I set about serious cage cleaning and medicating. By the time I went to collect the Wonderspouse from the bus at around 1 am, I'd pretty much finished, and, indeed, WAS pretty much finished. All the rats were looking like little punks with ivermectin spot on on the backs of their necks, and my hands were red raw from scrubbing and cleaning. Needless to say, I hadn't eaten anything all day!

The Wonderspouse made cheese on toast, and at around 2 in the morning I went up to close my study down for the night. I noticed a small rat with a dark head, light body and dumbo ears climbing up the OUTside of the boys' big cage. At first I thought it was Isaiah, and that I hadn't put the cage back properly, but on closer inspection it turned out to be Sonata, one of the girls!

I checked all the doors - all closed. And then noticed the base of the cage - the girls had chewed a massive hole and escaped.

YIKES!!!!!

So, exhausted, in the middle of the night, I had to swing into full ratcatching action. The three little ladies were rounded up, placed hastily into a carry box, and then into a cage that I'd prepared for two boys who were arriving the next day.

I finally got to bed sometime after 3.00, utterly shattered. The alarm was set for 6.00. Nearly 3 hours in bed! WAHEY!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.