... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese

Well, I think I set my new personal best: 151 photographs in 40 minutes...

Let me explain: I am excitable, I love Egyptian Geese, and I stumbled across two adults with nine goslings... I just spontaneously went for a little photo-amble on Clapham Common, and had not anticipated seeing something quite so wonderful.

I had only seen adult Egyptian Geese before today, but they are superbly beautiful with patches around their eyes and subtly varied colouring on their bodies and wings; they look like they've been painted! They are easily my favourite fowl.
They have flashes of iridescence on some of their wing feathers which change between green and purple... The iridescent feathers (as in other birds) are not coloured by pigments; it is structural colouring achieved by the specific nanostructure of the feather barbs. They are spaced such that they backscatter light over a narrow range of optical frequencies producing a specific colour (but that varies depending on the angle from which it is viewed...).
The goslings are also incredibly cute...

Anyway, this picture is (again) not my overall favourite from today, but is my favourite out of the pictures that feature both the adults and goslings, and I like that it also has water in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.