Okains Bay

I took a few photos of the red admiral butterflies, bellbirds and grey warblers around our holiday house this morning and felt quite happy that I had a blip in the bag before lunch. Then we went out for a drive - took in Okains Bay, Duvauchelles, Barrys Bay (where we stopped to buy cheese), Wainui, Akaroa, and Robinsons Bay.

We had lunch in Akaroa and the cafe was wonderful - a garden setting with half a dozen bellbirds not only serenading us but dashing around and showing off for us too. I've never seen so many in one place before - it's just a pity that they insisted on staying high up in the trees so all of my shots are not much more than silhouettes.

In the end I've chosen Okains Bay looking out to the Pacific Ocean - I like the way the colours contrast so strongly with yesterday's evening blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.