lightscape*

By tolu

As a fairly extreme introvert (by a Myers-Briggs definition), I like my own company and headspace, and enjoy photography in part because it is something I can do alone. The skills of the many blippers who strike up conversations with strangers and take their portraits bemuse and inspire me, but I was pretty sure I'd never ask a stranger to take their portrait!

Enter Barbera....

Within 10 minutes of getting my attention by complimenting Kai on his eyelashes, she entranced me with her life story. A glittering career in show business and show jumping. Now 86 and she still has all her own teeth, is Jewish, teaches piano, and has recently recovered from a fractured knee. Her son has skin colour like mine and a shock of curly red hair! He's also in show business and very successful in London. She goes (and was on her way) to the station every now and again to people watch, then comes home and paints the faces she remembers. In oils or water colours.

Such a charming, fascinating lady, by the time we reached our destination, I had done the unimaginable, explained blipfoto and asked to take a photo. We parted feeling like old friends, and with me under strict orders to come round for tea and cake and to play her piano!


(in case this becomes a habit I had better start learning how to take portrait photos!! All tips welcome...)



(Forgot to add, taken with my Nikon D3100 and uploaded from my iphone)

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.