Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Billy Boy!!

Well, I haven't blipped for quite a while and this is a 'back blip!

My old cat, Tigger sadly had to be put to sleep a month ago (at nearly 16). I spent quite a while grieving for her, and the house was such an empty place without her.

A couple of weeks ago I went up to the local Cats Protection with a friend's support and even though I thought I was over losing Tigger I still found myself looking for her, my cat there.

Anyway, while I was visiting I'd seen many friendly pussycats all wanting a new home. I knew that if/when I had another cat I wouldn't have a kitten, and there are always older cats that want a new home.

I looked at this 7 year old cat who was just sitting in his bed, not showing any interest in anything. I went and stroked him and he loved the attention, but still didn't get out of the bed.

The visit was all too much for me and when I got home I was crying all over again for losing Tigger, and continued like this on and off for quite a few days.

In the meantime I don't know why but I kept on looking at the Cats Protection website, and in particular turning to this boy. In the end on Wednesday (11th) I called the Cats Protection and told them how I felt and they suggested I came to spend time with him.

So, on the Thursday (12th) I visited CPL and stayed with 'Big Cat' as he was called for a while (almost an hour!) and stroked him and tried to encourage him playing. After this I made a decision that I would take him. CPL did their home visit within an hour and two hours later I was actually picking him up and brought him home.

I shut him in the bedroom with food and water and litter tray, and left him to sort himself out. A couple of hours later I went in with some Felix for him, and this is the first blip of probably many!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.