Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Kirsty

We spent pretty much the entire day at the Botanical Gardens today. I can't remember the last time we managed this simple treat: the previous trips have been an hour here and there.

My macro lens is still being fixed, so I didn't spend as much time taking flower pictures as normal. I also didn't feel the same enthusiasm for taking them. But I did take a picture of a girl who seemed pretty enthusiastic about some orchids. And I had a nice chat with a student who was trying out a fancy Canon 24mm TS-E lens on some tulips. I told him that's an excellent idea, as I was always fighting to get more depth of field in my flower pictures.

At the end of the day we went to one of the demonstration rooms, where some people were demonstrating science-ie stuff to children. I had a fantastic chat with a couple of the scientists. They genuinely seemed enthusiastic about their field, and how the scientific understanding of the human immune system has leaped in the past 20 years. Kirsty here is working on treating an auto-immune disease relating to arthritis, but hopes to get back to external pathogens one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.