0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

In Your Face

OK, so faces are not symmetrical (not in the true mathematical sense anyhow) but hear me out! :)

I read a book once titled 'The Face'. Random I know, but it was left by a house-mate at University. Anyway, the book talked about symmetrical and asymmetrical features of the face and how more symmetrical faces were believed to be more...pleasing, shall we say.

Apparently, the theory is that symmetry in faces is part of an evolutionary advantage indicating how healthy an individual is. Asymmetry causes small imperfections (in the genes) and these can lead to diseases/infections during physical development.

Now, my face is nowhere near symmetrical but I thought it'd be interesting to show you one half and leave the other to symmetry ;)

Heavy post-processing in this photo (obviously). I am neither confident nor pleased with self-portraits. I hate myself in pictures and even more so when the word 'self-portrait' is mentioned. Is this strange for a photographer? So, I've messed about with it until you can't really see me at all, haha!

Thanks for looking/comments/shares!

Our Daily Challenge (ODC): SYMMETRY

112 Pictures in 2012: #1 Me (Yourself)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.