earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Sceach Gheal

Today has passed in a flash, my last full day in this magical land before heading home to England tomorrow. The weather has been wild, but that hasn't deterred us from adventure! We called in at lunchtime to catch up with Lulubelle and Mike, just back from a rather remarkable televised wedding in the Lake District (not theirs I hasten to add, but Mike's sister's). I have to thank Lulubelle for lending me a memory card today. I've been so distracted by this full new social life that I left mine behind. She saved the day!

This afternoon we headed north inland to visit another of TJ's friends who has a farm in the mountains. The weather had been extremely blustery and showery all day, but as we headed up the Borlin Valley the rain set in and we ended up taking a very wet walk into the hidden cwm high up the valley at the back of the farm.

The conditions made photography quite difficult but as soon as I saw this tiny, wizened old hawthorn I knew that it was destined to be blipped. I have never fallen in love with a tree so quickly and so thoroughly. As I approached the tree, facing into the wind, I wasn't sure how I was going to get the picture I wanted but by some miracle the driving rain stopped for just long enough for me to take a photograph without the lens getting wet. I suspect that it is extremely old. It's hard to imagine how it ever emerged from seed to sapling and into a tree in this incredibly wild place. It commands enormous respect for perseverance against all odds!

PS Prompted by your wonderful comments I renamed yesterday's blip to the Beachcombover Tree. Thanks for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.