Street Lessons

It's not been an easy 24 hours. Just as I was about to get organised for work last night my laptop ran out of juice. The power supply had packed up and I hadn't realised until Windows gave me an alert that I only had ten minutes battery life left. I know from experience that this a Microsoft 'ten' minutes and I probably didn't have much more than a minute before it would decide to hibernate the machine on my behalf. I frantically messed with the cables and plugs, but to not avail. There was nothing I could do. It died on me.

It would have been lovely to have buried myself in a book, but I couldn't afford to spend the six hours travelling to Birmingham and back so enjoyably. I really had no choice but to get the first train into the office just after to 6am to pick my spare power supply and download the files I needed to work on. I think busy trains are a great environment for working. I retreat into my own space and actually find it easier to concentrate than when I have complete peace and quiet. It also helps not having an internet connection! I've actually managed to get some complex code designed and written today.

The meeting was difficult. Lots of different people, each with their own agenda, everyone trying to score points. However, despite all the posturing, there was a reasonably positive outcome and a consensus reached. The more extroverted made the most noise with all their buzz words and talking around in circles, but I like to think that it was the introverted that made the most impact! We didn't say much but I think our contribution was far more valuable.

I got turned around coming out of New Street Station and went the wrong way heading to the venue of the meeting, which was next to the Cathedral. I kept asking for directions but nobody seemed to know where it was. And one guy asked me which cathedral I was looking for. I'm pretty sure Birmingham only has one of them! Losing my way a bit at least gave me a few extra opportunities for photography. In the end I had to choose from quite a few shots that I liked, including this abstract, which has been composited from a single frame. No prizes for guessing where it was taken.

After the meeting the sun was out and I went looking for a place to have a cup of coffee in the sunshine. How hard could that be would you think? I wandered the streets for ages before eventually finding a place. Birmingham doesn't really do street culture.

I did find some action on the street though. Just outside Selfridges there was a lesson taking place, a large group of delightfully well behaved children sketching various buildings and public art. They were all so wonderfully engaged. Watching them for a couple of minutes was the highlight of my day.

PS Just noticed my year ago shot is just about my very favourite of all my blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.