The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Where Were You Two Weeks Ago?

I've always managed a Jay shot for all the Blip challenges I have set, my garden Jay made his reappearance two weeks to late ... but never mind, this stunning corvid is more than welcome in my garden.

It's the first time a Jay has visited the garden for months and I have been lucky to get some really good up close views of him today, when he came right down on to the front feeder. It really is a superb looking bird close up, so colourful, and like the rest of his genus, eyes full of sparkling intelligence.

The garden has been a hive of activity today. I have had two grey squirrels on the lawn most of the day. There has been a baby one about the last few days, and it hasn't got the confidence to get onto the one feeder I let them use, it has been quite amusing watch it try to work out how to get on to it. I felt sorry enough to go and throw him a handful of peanuts though.

The starlings have been busy collecting nesting material from the lawn. I even went out there and broke the bigger bits up for them! The things I do now that I didn't used to do back then eh!? I think they have had some chicks, or definitely one female is sitting on eggs, as one starling was collecting food and flying off all day. I hope so, as Starling numbers are in rapid decline, and they are having a tough time of it. If my garden is full of chicks like last year I will be more than happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.