The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Phew ... And Now Breath!

What a day ... shattered now!

I did it. I stood up in front of a room full of complete strangers (well almost complete strangers) and blabbed about me for about 20 minutes (it felt like two minutes). I was told it went very well, it went absolutely nothing like how I planned, as nerves got the better of me ... BUT ... I didn't freeze or lose my thread, and there was enough interest at the end of the talk to encourage me that some of the enthusiasm got through. That is all I can hope for!

I would love to do the talk again now I have broken the ice so to speak. I know I can make it a lot better. Hopefully no one will fall asleep in the front row next time (which was slightly disconcerting!).

All in all at has been a brilliant two days at the RHS show, and it was great to have been asked to do it. It was good to do something way outside my comfort zone, and it is another one of those challenges that has pushed me to do something new.

Thank you to Emma Roberts, RSPB Volunteering Press Ganger for asking me.

Thank you to all the guys and gals on the stand there for their words of encouragement before I went on stage.

Thank you to Dawn for being my glamorous assistant today and flipping charts on cue!

Thank you to my mum for the moral support.

And finally thank you to JerryWSL and Leanne for coming to watch and give me some moral support. Read the entry I have just linked. It great having good friends like this. Friends I would have never have met if not for Twitter and Blipfoto.

Back to normality tomorrow ... whatever that is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.