Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Red dragon

WOW! I guess you liked the damsel shot then! It went straight to the top of my highest rated blips. What a tremendous blip month I am having. Thankyou so much for all the hearts and stars, so kind.

Ironically the best image from this mornings safari was another damsel, almost an identical shot to yesterday's except a different species, but I did not want to push it, so I went for the red dragon, an old favorite subject of mine. Some very good spider images too. I have put the rejects in folio once more for your perusal, the spider images are the last four, so the so the phobic's can avoid the shock!

The red dragon was a difficult shot, as she was resting in deep shadow. I had to use flash and got it a bit under exposed, due to the deep red colors. I will remember that for future reference, open up an extra stop for reds in shadow.

The dragon was not bothered by the flash and I was able to move in very close and even reposition for a different angle. After I had finished I even gave it a prod to see if it was actually still alive - it was and made me jump, DUH!

I think there is something special about the red dragon and I can't resist photographing them at every opportunity. I know many of you like them too, so I am sure you will enjoy this close-up.

Only one more full day left in Indonesia, but hoping to snatch an early blip on the 25th. I may have to back blip it, as the car arrives at 10am. We will see how it goes. Packing at 09:30, I'm not joking either, but I have made a list.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.