THE DUCKS WERE ALL LAZY TODAY

tucking their head in their feathers. Sometimes an eye open, sometimes suddenly flying down from the wall in the water of the harbour.
It was high time to visit the horses at the Eisenbahnerheim, they were eating their dried food and came towards us for their carrots. After that they hurried back to their own food.
I notice fields of cuckoo flowers, soft lilac fields beautiful between the green grass. As a child I was so fond of these flowers. My parents told me that when they cycled, with me behind them at the carrier, I cried loudly: boeme putte, boeme putte. I could not pronounce the l and the k, rightly I should have said: bloemen plukken, bloemen plukken. The word I (ik) not yet developped. Pick flowers, that was all I wanted.
They kept repeating it over a long time and they always laughed but they were glad I liked flowers and they let me pick them always or so they told me. And now seeing all those field flowers the memory comes back of the sentence, not of the picking them.

My haiku:

Hello white daisies
And yellow dandelions
Cuckoo flowers too

And the french proverb :

That day is lost on which one has not laughed.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.