Capital adventures

By marchmont

Fame

Funny old Sunday. I didn't sleep well and felt full of apprehension and dread but after finishing off stuff I started yesterday I switched off BB, got up, packed and set off with #2 son. Turned out later I'd forgotten the mascara (probably just as well) and the Bahraini pearl ear-rings, took my Finnie's ones by mistake.

Dave met us at the station. We'd been wondering why there were all these train spotters standing on the platform at the Joint Station, a Scotrail diesel is not that noteworthy. Turned out they were there for 'Scots Guardsman' which was taking on water before it went into the station on a great rail tripIt's a very historic engine, having starred in the 'Night Mail' film but I didn't realise that at the time. I took some photos and got the inside gen from a couple of train spotters by the roadside who'd followed it up from Montrose.

Then to Polmuir House (I remember it when it was the Hostel for the School for the Deaf and Dave's current lounge housed the chaise longue). We had a look at the powerpoint presentation, hankies at the ready. It was very good. He did a great job. The music fitted very well and I was dead chuffed that the last two photographs were ones I'd taken, one from 2000 and one from 23 March 2010, my lovely belle-mere, laughing and annoyed because her simmit was showing.

Then it was out to Meldrum for food at the Red Garth with #3 son and #1 girlfriend. We used to go there a lot for family meals and birthdays and we sat in the round window seat, as normal. But it wasn't normal.

Back to the flat and what was on the TV? a documentary about the SA coast, Durban - you couldn't make it up.

We were both tired and Dave took me to Jean's. Tomorrow is another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.