Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Nesting Wood Duck!!

Ha. Gotcha. You may recall that last January I had a Rare Wood Duck Sighting on my deck, in the heated bird bath. Well, as it turns out, the female returned today to nest in the garden. I know, a freaking miracle, right? She even had a swim in the "lake" first!

Okay, okay, I know she's not really a Wood Duck, but she is a duck made out of wood. My hubs used to collect hand carved duck decoys and this one is about 6 inches from snout to tail. Hubs has been begging me to do another "wood duck" blip and today just seemed like a good day to do it. Frankly, I didn't have much photo mojo going on today, so this is as good as it got.

I thank you all for your kind messages yesterday about Luisa. Your words all meant a great deal to me. One of the things I like about Blip is that, while most days I just want to be silly here, on the occasion when I need to write my way through something sad or serious, you are all right there. So, thank you.

And, now back to the wood ducks...

Happy Friday, all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.