Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

LONDON SKYLINE

Am home now and this is a backblip

Thurs 26th April

Got up 9am. Phone rang at 5 past 9. It was Neil ringing from Oz. Wishing me a good trip " Down South ".

Got bus at 10.30am into Newcastle, then the Metro to the airport. Flight to Heathrow was due to leave at 1.40pm but the plane was delayed coming in because of rainy weather at Heathrow. Eventually left Newcastle at 2.30pm.

Arrived Heathrow at 3.50pm. 20 min tube ride to Hounslow Central and short walk ( in the rain ) to The Continental Hotel. Quickly unpacked and went to meet my daughter Becky. Was supposed to meet her from work but due to delayed flight I was too late for that and just got the bus straight to her flat in Isleworth.

Spent the evening there just relaxing. I made the meal - mince and dumplings and taties. Becky requested it as it was one of her favourite meals when she was little.

Mike - Becky's husband - had been to " a leaving do " and came in about 10pm. Becky and Mike took me back to my hotel on the bus later on. I was ready for my bed - a tiring day of travel.

My blip shows the view from the roof of Becky's block of flats. You can see The Gherkin, The London Eye and the new Shard London Bridge . That's all I can recognise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.