Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Raspberry Ripple

Along with 10 other volunteers, I spent the day cutting down and burning Rhododendrons at the church. At one point we had 6 bonfires going and the heat was intense. There were also loads of old Rhododendron cuttings, which were nice a dry for burning after the good spell we have had over the last few weeks.
It was a long tiring day, but well worth it to stand back and see the difference we had made. A good example of many hands making light work of a heavy job!
Only problem was by early evening I didn't have a blip in the camera. However, as I was sitting having dinner I noticed some nice shaped clouds developing in the northern sky. At the same time there was a bank of dark threatening cloud moving in over the sea from the south. Might just be a chance of a sunset so thoughts turned to a quick trip over to the west coast. However, I wasn't sure as it looked like the dark clouds would blank out the sun before it was setting.

Instead, I decided to head to the far end of the bay where I would have a view of the hills above Waterfoot where the sun would disappear. The problem is we are 15 miles from the west coast of Kintyre and would lose the sun a good 15/20 minutes before it set. I toop lots of shots as the sun went over the hills and the colours were orange and grey. The strange thing was once the sun was out of sight the colours became more intense and I had a great time blipping away. As the last of the golden orange glow disappeared I headed back to the car where I reviewed all the shots and deleted most of them. This probably took about 5 minutes. With the camera away I looked up to drive off and this was what I saw. The sky had suddenly gone bright pink along the edge of all the clouds. It was a dash out of the car and back to my spot to rattle of a few blips before the colour disappeared. I actually missed the most intense part of it, but still reckon this is one of the most unusual sunsets I have ever seen.

Blip can be full of great surprises and this was just a brilliant end to a busy day!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.