Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

Barn swallow

A glorious day in Glasgow. The sun is shining. Everyone has their bods out. Scotland appears to have started summer!

I spent the afternoon in Pollock Country Park with a friend. There were ducklings swimming past, lots of varieties of birds hanging out in the trees. Tractors going past with hay bales. Picnics in full swing. Women in bikinis which I could do without thankyou! We don't need much notice us Brits to get organized.

My friend's just adopted a basset hound who appears to have a bee in his bonnet about ducks. He wore himself out barking, swimming, chasing after every duck that swam or flew past. I was going to blip him, or his owner, but another day....I took so many photos it was hard to select.

I opted for this barn swallow taken in the Old Stable Courtyard. The stone buildings, with beautiful charcoal slate roofs, are dated back to the 1740's. There are quite a few used and disused pigeon lofts and one of the disused ones was clearly a nest for the barn swallow young. I followed the tweeting and took pictures of the adults as they entered with food and exited to go on another mission. Very beautiful birds and as I have never seen one in person exciting for me (the real orthonologists among you will probably be able to tell you much more about them).

So the first swallow of summer :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.