Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Art of moving

I LOVE a good trompe l'oeil! Saw this on our walk this morning, during a break from the rain- -I would hire them in a minute! (I know, I do the same with wine bottle labels -and the best art is not always the best wine.... :-) )

Last night's talk about the tearing down of 2 dams on the Elwha river in the Olympic penisula was very inclusive -history, process, expectations etc, - it's a $325 million experiment in restoration -the biggest in this country and possibly the world. I won't go on and on, but if you are at all interested, the whole story is here in a special report by the Seattle times. ON the plus side - most of the land is included in a national park already - on the negative side - the silt that was backed up against the dam and is now spread all over is VERY tough to grow anything in- so I think the biggest fight will not be the return of the salmon and all it effects down/up the chain, but getting native plants to grow ahead of noxious weeds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.