Adam's Images

By ajt

Busy Bee

Didn't get up at silly o'clock today, no mad rush to catch a train to get up to London! I burnt a couple of DVDs for the Linux User Group meeting (Mint/Debian) and had breakfast. Just before 10 my lift turned up and we went down to Southampton for the meeting.

The meeting was small and short but very good. We had two talks, one on the photo stitching software Hugin and a second on building your own super computer cluster - which two LUG members are in the process of doing!

I helped my friend install Linux Mint/Debian on a Dell he'd been given. That went very well and he now has a new up to date distro on the PC to play with. The machine is more powerful than my desktop system but was being thrown away by it's original owner because it was running too slow with Windows!

Next I helped another member with his plugcomputer, I couldn't fix why the JTAG/serial connection wasn't working perfectly but I did fix why it wasn't upgrading properly. We also had a chat about cameras, he has just got an EOS 550D and was asking about how to process Canon RAW images with Linux.

It was a short meeting today - our host at the University has exams to revise for! My lift then went into town to collect a family member and we came home. I didn't get a good blip of the University today so when I was dropped off I pottered about in the garden to see if there was anything to blip. I took a few pictures but the light it flat and cold and it's windy too, so not the best day for pretty flowers - even after tweaking in the GIMP...

Anyhow today's blip is a bumblebee frantically doing it's thing on a pretty blue flower. I'm not sure what it is, but I think it's a Buff-tailed bumblebee, Bombus terrestris.

BTW: I now can go 4-5 hours between pain killers, so that probably means my dentist was right and it was only food rammed under the gum. My jaw still hurts like hell when the painkillers have worn off but I don't need to take as many now and I'm hoping it will settle down properly over the rest of the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.