The Finishing Line

What a glorious day. I thought it was going to be 7C so considered taking my thermals; I certainly had my woolly hat. It was so warm, I'll tell you, that I began to fear for the chilled beers I'd left in the car for the thirsty crew.
So, this was my first ever race. Seems a bit daft really, sailing round three buoys, though there was a certain enjoyment at crossing the finishing line and hearing the race steward sound a loud toot. It's a social thing, y'see. And who knows, the boat has such a high handicap (no, no, not just because its skipper ermmm still has a bit to learn), that I may well finish above last place. After that, a fine BBQ and couple of beers standing nattering in the sun.
Now.. Cup Final or not? I may give it a miss and read the papers. Maybe just a sneaky look for a couple of minutes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.