Mo

By Mo

Explorers

With Red away at John's stag do and no football fixtures, I took the lads to the David Livingstone Centre at Blantyre. I remember going there on a school trip, but it was such a long time ago that David Livingstone was just a wean!

Matthew chose David Livingstone as the topic for his "Africa" project this term and I think he got a lot out of the visit. The other two enjoyed it but said that their favourite thing was the cream and jam sponge cake in the tea shop.Victoria Falls, Victoria sponge - all the same to them.

The whole idea of "missionaries" makes me uneasy so I prefer to focus on the adventurous aspects of his life - first European to travel across the African continent and so on. However, it was interesting to learn that DL apparently only converted 1 person to Christianity and played a major role in the abolition of slave trading in east Africa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.