La vida de Annie

By Annie

Samson's columns

Today (Saturday) I kept an appointment with Mike Clarke (pictured with mosaic columns decorated by local children) who is based at Creative Communities in Bootle. He's going to give me help and advice on promoting and selling my images; I've done quite a lot of stuff for people but somehow don't think it's worth asking money for it. He looked at some of the images on my website and thought there was potential there. I had a tour of the centre and was astounded by the quality and variety of work there, both displayed on the walls and in progress in the many workshops and studios in the labyrinthine building. It was a little daunting, and made me express doubts about my stuff being in remotely the same league. Decision time: do I give up on the photography altogether because I'll never be good enough, or do I give it my best shot in spite of all the recent problems with health etc? Easy to find excuses - I have trouble being focussed, concentrating and learning anything new. I am getting on in years. My second brain aneurysm may burst at any time and leave me dead or a vegetable. Hang on - what exactly have I got to lose? #1 son quoted this piece which I'd like to share here:


"If you're going to try, go all the way. Otherwise, don't even start. This could mean losing girlfriends, wives, relatives and maybe even your mind. It could mean not eating for three or four days. It could mean freezing on a park bench. It could mean jail. It could mean derision. It could mean mockery--isolation. Isolation is the gift. All the others are a test of your endurance, of how much you really want to do it. And, you'll do it, despite rejection and the worst odds. And it will be better than anything else you can imagine. If you're going to try, go all the way. There is no other feeling like that. You will be alone with the gods, and the nights will flame with fire. You will ride life straight to perfect laughter. It's the only good fight there is."

~Charles Bukowski... American Writer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.