LargoLass

By LargoLass

On Duty

Its my turn on the coffee rota at Church this morning. This is a really nice duty and with the rota it only comes round twice or three times a year (it can be quite easy to forget actually and I nearly did today!). The morning service has an average attendance of around 80 and we usually have about 40 coming over for coffee - that plus a dozen or so kids from the Sunday Club makes it busy, a good buzz and nice chance to chat and catch up.

I have my biscuits carefully prepared but hidden in the kitchen out of sight - there is a very, very, good reason for this. The way it works is this:- you go to the Church Hall around 9.15 a.m. to set everything up then go to church. Those on the coffee rota come out during the last hymn, fill the coffee pots and make the tea ...fine so far. My last duty had gone well until I returned to fill the pots only to discover the kids from the Sunday Club had had a field-day with my biscuits and with few in reserve it was a very scant table.

This morning though the kids were on their best behaviour although we had to hold back the crowd - if you havn't tried Lidl's Jaffa Cakes I'd recommend them - they went like "snow off a dyke" !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.