understandings

By Daystarimages

1937 British Postal

This is a British postal stamp from May of 1937 which I saw in my step daughters stamp album. The album was given to a son by a father in 1945 in England. I thought that some of the stamps were quite unique as for example, this one which was issued 65 years ago. Also, someone gave me a lens the other day that would do 1:1 images and I was quite anxious to try it out. Actually works quite well although I was about 1 inch from the subject matter and blocked out a lot of the light available to do the shot and fill the frame. Still, it may come in handy for some close up shots that may be seen at a later date. The f stop goes up to f45 which one would need to get any kind of depth of field. Even then, lots of light is needed and tripod is essential.

Thus, another lens to add to my arsenal. At the moment, I have this one which is a 50mm macro then a 19-35mm, 28-70mm L and a 35-350mm L. If I want sharp stuff, I lock the mirror up and shoot at iso 50 on a tripod using the smallest f stop each lens has. Then with the software that came with the Canon 5D, I sharpen the images as far as allowed without getting grain on the image.

Oops, I am giving lessons outside the class room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.