Sleeping like a Baby

It's drizzled and rained all day here and the only time I got out was to give Holly (the dog) a short walk. This is a working holiday so I've spent today mostly at the computer writing some new code, but taking lots of breaks to hang out with the family. My mum has been in full grandmother mode and, with Jake being her eighth grandchild, she has the art of grandparenting pretty much mastered. She seems to instinctively know when to help and when to leave the new parents to it.

There is something wonderfully therapeutic about holding a baby ... especially when you can give them back as soon as they start crying! I had forgotten what an amazingly calming experience that is, having a sleeping baby in your arms. I had also forgotten how incredibly stressful it is when they start squirming and squealing and you are completely helpless in trying to understand or deal with their pain. It's very much a case of ecstasy to agony in a few seconds!

It seems a little odd having my youngest brother start his family just as my own boys have become almost entirely independent. It's like there is a whole generation between us. Indeed, Jake actually feels a bit more like a grandson than a nephew. I suppose I can regard it as good practice for the real thing, although that seems like a long way off at the moment. I look forward to that time, but I'm in no rush. I'm hoping my boys have a lot of life to live before starting families of their own. I think that life experience is invaluable.

I did have a little time of my own with Jake today. There is only a short window of opportunity for play between him opening his eyes from slumber and wanting a feed but I did get a chance to witness his full range of facial expressions as he woke out of a deep sleep this afternoon. My brother captured a little moment of tickling here in the few minutes between him waking up and realising that I was not his mother. And I soon got to discover how incredibly strong and wriggly the young fellow is. Small in stature but large in spirit. This little guy certainly knows his own mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.